The Smartwool Experiment

Charting the wear and tear on four pairs of Smartwool socks.

Still kickin’

with 16 comments

CC photo by Hyeenus on Flickr

Creative Commons photo by Hyeenus on Flickr

Folks, just in case you were wondering what happened with this experiment, I had a little technical glitch induced lazy spell over the holidays and a particularly travel-heavy January, whereby I didn’t track my sock wearage over at Swivel.  I didn’t wear my socks as often for one reason in particular, which has to do with a different sort of laziness…

Hand washing and air drying is sort of annoying.

I’m just sayin’.  When the shininess of a cool bloggy science experiment wears off and you’re just washing socks to wear ’em, they get buried (figuratively and literally) at the bottom of the dirty laundry, waiting to be washed just so they can be worn and washed again.

I’ve only worn my brown and black socks once in the last month.  And with adding my Darn Toughs to the sock rotation, Smartwools aren’t being worn as often as normal.

An interesting aside: On colder days, I revert to my worn and tattered classic trekkers because they make me feel warmer and somehow more hardcore.

Win a free pair of socks.

Darn Tough sent me two large and two medium sized socks.  I took the mediums, you get the larges.  This will be the first of two contests.  Simply comment on this post if you would like to be entered into a drawing for a brand new pair of Darn Tough size large In Country socks.  Your comment should contain your prediction of whether or not you think my four pairs of Smartwools will last one year without developing a hole or becoming threadbare.  The winner will be selected on Friday at 5pm EST.

Written by Beck Tench

February 3, 2009 at 11:30 am

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you keep being lazy, I predict they will last the year.

    Karen

    February 3, 2009 at 12:14 pm

  2. I like socks!

    AmyMo

    February 3, 2009 at 12:15 pm

  3. I should also read instructions. I do not believe the socks will make it a year.

    AmyMo

    February 3, 2009 at 12:16 pm

  4. Given your (and others’) previous experiences, I guess I don’t think your smartwools will last one year. Can’t wait to see how it turns out though…

    elizabef

    February 3, 2009 at 12:58 pm

  5. they will last a year … if they stay at the bottom of the hamper …

    silvia

    February 3, 2009 at 5:01 pm

  6. I predict that the handwashed will make it just shy of being officially threadbare, but the machine washed will not fare so well.

    Jeff Stern

    February 3, 2009 at 9:00 pm

  7. I’m going to say that they will not last. Are winners chosen by random? By agreement with your hypothesis? By agreement with your psychic knowledge of whether or not your socks will last a year without developing a hole or becoming threadbare?

    Ember

    February 4, 2009 at 10:42 pm

  8. What are you doing to these poor socks? Do you walk around on sandpaper while not wearing shoes? I have Smartwools that have lasted for 4-5 years or more. Too bad you don’t have any XL socks, cuz I’d take those off your hands. Congrats to whomever wins!

    David Matusiak

    February 6, 2009 at 11:16 am

  9. I predict they will not make it a year. I predict that David Matusiak has purchased an alien form of Smartwool that has since left this planet and left us bereft. All of my socks have holes in them. Jerks.

    ninaksimon

    February 6, 2009 at 11:41 am

  10. I was first. Doesn’t that count for something? Plus, the snark. That’s not easy either.

    Anyway, I still predict they will last a year while you dilly dally about whether they will last a year.

    Karen

    February 6, 2009 at 1:14 pm

  11. I think your socks will last a year if not longer.

    Denise Crisco

    February 6, 2009 at 2:03 pm

  12. The only way I’ll ever own a pair of $20 socks is if I win them! I had some Smartwools once, but they had holes in them so damn fast I swore I’d never buy another pair!

    Troy Livingston

    February 6, 2009 at 2:28 pm

  13. Will you be wearing them every day this year? In case it will help my chances any, I will donate the winning socks to the homeless medical clinic of the org I work for!

    Stacer

    February 6, 2009 at 4:22 pm

  14. oh, and if so, they won’t last

    Stacer

    February 6, 2009 at 4:24 pm

  15. There is no way the Smartwool socks will last a year… ALL of my Smartwools have holes in them and all of my kids Smartwools have holes in them as well. I think the Darn Tough socks are much better and they are well, Darn Tough. And they are made in Vermont. What is better than that?

    Kim

    February 7, 2009 at 10:02 pm

  16. […] Still kickin’ […]


Leave a Reply

